LP defeats PDP to clinch Kaduna federal constituency seat

LP defeats PDP to clinch Kaduna federal constituency seat

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Donatus Mathew of the Labour Party (LP) as the winner of Saturday’s election for the Kaura federal constituency seat in Kaduna state.

NAN reports that Elijah Ella, the INEC returning officer, announced the result in Kaura on Sunday.

Mathew polled 10,508 votes to defeat Gideon Gwani of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who got 10,297 votes.

Gwani, who presently represents the constituency at the national assembly, was seeking to occupy the seat for the fifth time.

The PDP candidate is currently the minority whip of the house of representatives.

The INEC returning officer said
Benjamin Gugong of the All Progressives Congress (APC) came third with 9,919 votes, while Simon Na’Allah of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) came fourth with 5,354 votes.

A total of 36,983 voters were accredited out of the 101,624 registered voters in the LGA.

He added that of the 36,983 accredited voters, 36,133 cast their votes.

“Mr Donatus Mathew of the Labour Party, having satisfied the requirements of the law by scoring the highest votes, is hereby declared the winner,” Ella said.

Post a Comment